Week 10: The Wonders of Dawn Ertle’s Art Work

This week was a very interesting week as far as art work goes. After looking at Dawn’s art work my perspective on art totally changed. I quickly began to engage more with art and realized that art can be alive. Her art work was fascinating, and the ideology behind her work made it even better. Although I did not get all of her art pieces titles I did engage with almost all of her work which was displayed at the Gatov-West gallery. Previous from this day I believed art to be a simple way of expression. What I mean by this is, I thought art was expressing your feelings in which ever way possible. Nonetheless, I found Dawn’s art work extremely complex and sophisticated. As an engineering student I enjoy art because it is the smoothness in my life, it is the distraction from my everyday logical life. However, this day I saw art being engineers. I can prove this was extremely complicated because of the displayed blue prints of her work. Every single piece was carefully constructed and engineered.

Here are the pictures to expressing the complexity of her work.

IMG_1224 IMG_1225 IMG_1226 IMG_1227 IMG_1228 IMG_1229 IMG_1230 IMG_1231 IMG_1232

In addition, to her art work being complex, a very interesting part of the work was the ideology behind it and how it was implemented to have meaning. What I mean by this is how it broke down into songs and what they meant towards the art work.

The following pictures describe what I mean:

IMG_1234 IMG_1235 IMG_1236

Overall, I really enjoyed Ertle’s art work and greatly consider and appreciate the time and dedication that was implemented into her work. To show my interest and appreciation towards her art work I took some photos with her art work along with my beloved wife. Here are some of the pictures which we took.

IMG_1239 IMG_1240 IMG_1241 IMG_1242 IMG_1243 IMG_1244 IMG_1245

Leave a Reply

